Webinar: A New Top-Down Approach to Power System Design

I’ve spent many years working with companies to help them architect power distribution in their designs. The mostVicor Webinar common approach, where engineers segment large power systems, designing each section in isolation (pardon the pun!), has been used for years. But is this the best way? Like any good engineer I hate accepting “that’s the way it has always been done,” as a way of optimizing a process.

Over the last few years, we’ve seen more and more component power devices launched, and I wondered if these products would enable a new way of designing power systems. I started talking to engineers about the feasibility of a top-down, rather than bottom-up, approach to architecting power. We devised a simple three-step approach to power design, and when engineers at my customers tried the technique, they found that it not only saved time, but it also helped to ensure they developed an optimal solution.

I will present this three-step process in a live webinar on March 13, 2013, and would be delighted if you could attend. In the webinar, I will walk through the design of a complete multi-kW AC-DC power system, with around a dozen output rails, in just half an hour. I believe this is going to be an interesting webinar, and it might just change the way you design power systems.

Webinar: Design a Complete Power System in Only Half an Hour

Please register for the time that is convenient for you:

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 14:00 GMT, 15:00 CET, 9:00am EST

Wednesday, 13 March 2013 at 18:00 GMT, 1:00pm EST, 10:00am PST

[These sessions are now over.  However, the webinar can be viewed as a rebroadcast on the Vicor web site.]

Tags: ,

One Response to:
Webinar: A New Top-Down Approach to Power System Design

  1. Charles Nutter on February 6, 2013 at 10:56 AM

    High efficiency DC to DC microgrids are of interest.

Find out more about our Cool-Power Buck Regulators subscribe to vicor newsletter Contact Us

Get Connected